Main content

BARCLAYS PLC - Board Changes

Please find below an announcement regarding board changes at Barclays PLC and Barclays Bank PLC issued on December 21, 2006. Please update your records accordingly. Barclays PLC and Barclays Bank PLC (“Barclays”) confirm that, as announced on 31 August 2006, Matthew W Barrett, the Chairman of Barclays, will retire from the Barclays Boards on 31 December 2006. He will be succeeded as Chairman by Marcus Agius with effect from 1 January 2007. Marcus Agius is currently Chairman of Lazard London, Deputy Chairman of Lazard LLC and a non-executive director of Barclays. He will be retiring from Lazard with effect from 31 December 2006. Barclays announced on 8 June 2006 that David Roberts, an Executive Director of Barclays, would retire from the Barclays Boards in 2006. Barclays today confirms that Mr Roberts will retire on 31 December 2006. For a full list of Barclays executive biographies please click here